NAMCO MUSEUM ARCHIVES Vols 1 and 2 set to launch 18th June

The Xbox One, PS4, Switch and PC gain not one but two 8-bit (NES/Famicom) Namco retro collections next week. In addition to featuring save states, wide-screen support and the ability to rewind gameplay, each has a ‘special’ exclusive game.

NAMCO MUSEUM ARCHIVES. Vol 1 includes an 8-bit reimagining of PAC-MAN Championship Edition, while Vol 2 adds an 8-bit home console version of Gaplus, the sequel to Galaga.

The demake of Pac-Man Championship Edition was reportedly once destined for the 3DS.

Each collection contains ten titles, including some which never made it to the west originally, such as the chibi-style Splatterhouse: Wanpaku Graffiti and Dragon Buster II.


  • Galaxian
  • Xevious
  • Mappy
  • Dragon Buster
  • Dig-Dug
  • The Tower of Druaga
  • Sky Kid
  • Dragon Spirit: The New Legend 
  • Splatterhouse: Wanpaku Graffiti 
  • PAC-MAN Championship Edition 


  • Battle City
  • Pac-Land
  • Dig Dug II
  • Super Xevious
  • Galaga
  • Rolling Thunder
  • Mappy-Land 
  • Legacy of the Wizard
  • Dragon Buster II
  • Mendel Palace
  • Gaplus

While some retro fans would no doubt prefer arcade and 16-bit games, there’s no denying both collections have more than a few standouts, Pac-Land, Rolling Thunder, Mappy-Land and Splatterhouse: Wanpaku Graffiti included.

This isn’t the only retro re-release Bandai Namco has lined up for June. Mr. DRILLER DrillLand – a HD remake of the original, with a new four-player mode – also debuts on Switch at the end of the month.

Leave a Comment